Music for a Winter's Eve: JS Bach - Advent and Christmas cantatas

Dec 12, 2018 at 20:00 — 21:00 (GMT)
Organiser: MusicFor

The final concert in MusicFor's second series, Music for a Winter's Eve. Artistic Director Daniel Collins (The Sixteen) directs an orchestra and soloists, all recent graduates from music college, in a performance of two of Bach's most exhilarating cantatas, Ich freue mich in dir, and Wachet Auf. All the performers are playing one-to-a-part, so this will be a wonderful evening of chamber music in the intimate setting of Holy Trinity Church. The programme also contains two other works: Bach's uplifting motet Lobet den Herrn, and the first movement of his Oboe Concerto in F major, played by fantastic oboist Zoe Cartlidge. Mince pies and mulled wine will be available from the bar!


Please note: this concert is on a Wednesday, not a Thursday like the other concerts in the series.


MusicFor is a new concert series aimed at giving young musicians performance opportunities. It is currently based at Holy Trinity, Stroud Green, and the first series "Music for an Autumn Evening"  consists of four concerts, each involving exceptionally talented young musicians. We have an up-and-coming string quartet comprised of award-winning musicians, a wonderful soprano who is newly graduated from the Royal Academy of Music, and a violinist who is breaking into the world's top baroque ensembles. The Artistic Director is Daniel Collins, a member of the internationally renowned choir The Sixteen. Please see for more details



JS Bach - Oboe Concerto in F major BWV 1035 (soloist - Zoe Cartlidge)

JS Bach - Cantata BWV 133 "Ich freue mich im dir"

JS Bach - Lobet den Herrn

JS Bach - Cantata BWV 140 "Wachet Auf"



Soprano - Charlotte La Thrope

Alto - Caitlin Goreing

Tenor - Chris Why

Bass - Florian Störtz

Oboe - Zoe Cartlidge

Violin - Dominika Fehér

Directed by Daniel Collins

Read More

Ticket sales for this event are temporarily unavailable. To purchase tickets, please contact the organiser or check back here again later.